Zucchini

I love zucchini and it is very versatile. At the grocery store in Canada it costs $.99 on sale for one. We grow our own, it’s super easy to grow. For $1 end of season at the garden centre we got 4 zucchini plants. So far on our first yield there is 10 plants growing. Once the season is in full swing we can expect a new zucchini every 2 days. Here is a picture of the plants.

20120629-084458.jpg
Here’s a link for 10 healthy recipes

My favorite is grilled zucchini boats sprinkled with Parmesan cheese.
Zucchini is:
Low on the glycemic index with a rating of zero.
Low in saturated fat.
Low in sodium and cholesterol.
It’s a source of many vitamins and minerals such as:
Thiamin
Niacin
Pantothenic acid
Vitamin A,C and B6
Folate
Iron
Magnesium
Phosphorus
Potassium
Zinc
Copper and
Manganese.
What’s not to love, so buy some or grow some which is not just good for you but good for the environment.
Do you guys grow zucchini? What’s your favorite way to cook it?

9 responses to “Zucchini

  1. I usually just have it raw or juiced these days but I loved the way my mom used to make it for us kids. It was very lightly breaded and pan fried with just salt and pepper. Thanks for stirring the memory.

  2. I grow it as well. I love it as a raw “fettuccine” with fresh raw marinara (made out of Creole tomatoes from my garden) and I love it grilled with garlic and olive oil, as well as fried with a light dusting of cornflour and sea salt, but I rarely have it fried anymore.

  3. It is almost too easy to grow – we had so much this season it was hard to keep up with it! I actually just posted my new favourite way of making it: http://myhonestself.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/delicious-reminiscence/
    Try it, it’s soooooo good!

Leave a Reply

