Home made mozzarella cheese

As that age old saying goes “you can take the girl put of Italy but you can’t take the Italian out of the girl” . Ok not quite but what I mean is that like every Italian out there I love bread, cheese, and dried meats.
Almost all Italian food is high in calories well because it’s bread, cheese and dried meat. I love mozzarella and had found a recipe to make my own cheese.
Here it is
http://www.instructables.com/id/Great-Mozzarella-Cheese/step1/Equipment-you-will-need/?f=m
While the recipe turned out great, I think because I used skimmed milk instead of whole the steps took twice as long. TO used skim milk( think its called fat free in other countries) and the recipe called for 2 teaspoons of salt(I found my cheese saltier than my liking so of your going to try it I suggest using 1 teaspoon. The recipe made exactly one pound of cheese. Here’s a pic of my cheesy masterpiece!!

20120519-134525.jpg

Leave a Reply

