Beet Chips

I love snacks!! There are these organic veggie chips I get from the bulk barn that are $6 a bag. I heard all this commotion about kale chips and remembered the veggie chips I used to buy. I decided to make beet chips, I bought 4 beets for $2.50 great start already.
I used a very sharp knife(be careful) and sliced the beets as thin as I could get them. Placed them in a bowl added 4 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 generous pinches of sea-salt.
Set the oven to 350•
Placed parchment paper in 2 baking sheets and organized sliced beets by thickness so they would cook evenly.
I came out with a sheet if thick slices and a sheet of thin.
Than I placed another parchment sheet on top to help them stay flat, and avoid the olive oil from burning.
Baked 20 minutes thin slices, 30 minutes thick.
Take the top sheets off and cook uncovered for 5-10 minutes keeping an eye on them. Place on a baking rack to cool.
There you have it! Delicious crunchy chips that are made from beets. Why beets you ask?
-low on calories, fat.
-high in fibre.
-very high content of anti-oxidants.
-contain glycine betaine which helps lower homocysteine levels in the blood. Homocysteine is bad because it causes plaque build up in the arteries, causing heart attacks and stroke.
-loaded with foliates, vitamin c and potassium.
-my boyfriend ate them and thinks there fantastic <; doesn't usually like my crazy healthy experiments.
So in a nutshell beets make good chips!!

20120426-203750.jpg

20120426-203807.jpg

20120426-203817.jpg

Leave a Reply

